Ottawa Senators Official Website FRANÇAIS Official Site of the Ottawa Senators debra canada

Subscribe to become a SENS ARMY INSIDER today!

Inside the Senate

#SensDevCamp: Day 7

Tuesday, 07.9.2013 / 9:00 AM ET
By Chris Lund - / Inside the Senate Blog
Share with your Friends

Inside the Senate Blog

5:00 PM: Championship victories are the stuff you dream about as a little kid lying in bed looking at posters of your hockey heroes. Today, for a group of five young men, that championship dream came true.

After a gruelling season and even more challenging playoffs, Team Blue emerged victorious at this year’s Sens Development Camp 3-on-3 Tournament.

It was a tense back-and-forth contest between the eventual victors, Team Blue, and the spirited challengers, Team Yellow. While the game seemed dead set for a shootout, a frantic play down low capped off by Justin DaSilva whacking a loose puck past a sprawling Marcus Hogberg gave Blue the game winner they were hoping for with 35 seconds to play.

The 6-foot-6 Ohio State product credited the hard work of his teammates in the victory.

“Hard work. All of us worked hard, got pucks to the net, (Max) McCormick: scoring machine, (Ryan) Dzingel: passing machine, threw it out front front and just driving the net hard,” said DaSilva. “All hard work”

After the game he needed more time to let the rush of a game winning goal pass. He needed some time with his new trophy.

“I'm going to go back and sit in my stall for a little bit and relax -- it's been a long seven days here -- have a little fun.”

Ryan Dzingel reflected fondly on the round robin season that was and basked in the moment. Quite simply, it’s not everyday a championship team like this comes together.

“We're going to go take some time with the family now and rest and get recovered. It was a fun run. They're a hard nosed team and we're just blessed to be here and glad we could get it done,” said Dzingel, who was still unsure of what he’ll do with the Cup on his day. “I haven't really decided yet, maybe I'll have a little breakfast out of it. “

The championship capped off a miracle run for Team Blue who overcame a slow start to their season and fought tooth and nail to get into the playoffs. Their resiliency relegated other strong, highly touted squads like Team Black and Team Red to an early offseason.

Perhaps no moment greater defined their ability to persevere than their game winner as the proverbial buzzer beater was the first puck to beat Hogberg in regulation from the start of the season through to the conclusion of the playoffs.

The win certainly reflects well on the Ohio State University Buckeyes who had three alumni on Team Blue (DaSilva, Dzingel, McCormick) in addition to Canisius College product Cory Conacher and Lethbridge Hurricanes defenceman Macoy Erkamps.

Conacher credited the victory to a timely turnaround in fortunes for Team Blue and strong defensive work on Team Gold star Darren Kramer.

“It was fun. (Darren) Kramer had more than a couple goals today and he was pretty hot. We picked up at the right time and got that final win. “

After overcoming long odds and a very deep talent pool at this year’s tournament, Conacher is looking to celebrating the victory with his hometown in classic championship fashion.

“I plan on getting it next week some time and holding a party in Burlington, Ont.,” said Conacher. “People from Ottawa are welcome to come -- hopefully there will be a little parade going on.”

And with that parade and its young hockey players in attendance that will come a new generation of dreamers who will, one day, hope to hoist the Sens Development Camp 3-on-3 trophy over their heads. Today is a day and a year belonging to Team Blue. Next year is anybody’s game, because it's the Cup.

Until 2014, that’s all folks.

3:00 PM: That's a wrap, folks.

12:00 PM: Congratulations to the Blue Team of Cory Conacher, Justin DaSilva, Ryan Dzingel, Macoy Erkamps and Max McCormick on their 3-on-3 tournament win!

9:00 AM: After a long, difficult week we're hitting the end of development camp here in Ottawa.

Prospects have been pushed to their limits over the past seven days and today the camp culminates in the annual 3-on-3 tournament and camp awards before exit interviews and planes out of town. They got a little 3-on-3 practice in yesterday so we'll see which team can come together the quickest to win it all.

Here are today's teams:


Ben Harpur

Chris Leblanc

Tobias Lindberg

Troy Rutkowski

Mika Zibanejad


Jack Berger

Tim Boyle

Mathieu Gagnon

Cole Schneider

Shane Prince


Cory Conacher

Justin DaSilva

Ryan Dzingel

Macoy Erkamps

Max McCormick


Wacey Hamilton

Matt Puempel

Michael Sdao

Quentin Shore

Chris Wideman


Robert Baillargeon

Fredrik Claesson

Jeff Corbett

Jean-Gabriel Pageau

Buddy Robinson


Cody Ceci

Vincent Dunn

Derek Grant

Darren Kramer

Curtis Lazar


François Brassard

Chris Driedger

Andrew Hammond

Marcus Hogberg

Branden Komm

The tournament is open for all so feel free to swing by the Sensplex and enjoy the games.

More from Inside the Senate:Latest News/Features:




1 y - MTL 82 50 22 10 214 184 110
2 x - TBL 82 50 24 8 259 206 108
3 x - DET 82 43 25 14 231 211 100
4 x - OTT 82 43 26 13 232 208 99
5 BOS 82 41 27 14 209 201 96
6 FLA 82 38 29 15 198 213 91
7 TOR 82 30 44 8 206 257 68
8 BUF 82 23 51 8 153 269 54


E. Karlsson 82 21 45 7 66
M. Stone 80 26 38 21 64
K. Turris 82 24 40 5 64
B. Ryan 78 18 36 5 54
M. Hoffman 79 27 21 16 48
M. Zibanejad 80 20 26 0 46
C. MacArthur 62 16 20 -6 36
M. Michalek 66 13 21 3 34
D. Legwand 80 9 18 1 27
A. Chiasson 76 11 15 -5 26
C. Anderson 14 13 8 .923 2.49
R. Lehner 9 12 3 .905 3.02